Parish of Magh Ene - Bundoran & Ballyshannon

 Church of Our Lady Star of the Sea Bundoran

~ "Magh Ene" means The Plain of Hospitality ~

St Joseph's Church Ballyshannon 


The Angelus

The Angel of the Lord declared onto Mary:
And she conceived of the Holy Spirit.
Hail Mary, etc.

Behold the handmaid of the Lord:
Be it done to me according to your word.
Hail Mary, etc.

And the Word was made Flesh:
And dwelt among us.
Hail Mary, etc.

Pray for us, O holy Mother of God
That we may be made worthy of the promises of Christ.
Let us pray.
Pour forth, we beseech you, O Lord, your grace into our hearts, that we, to whom the Incarnation of Christ, your Son, was made known by the message of an angel may by his passion and cross be brought to the glory of his resurrection, through the same Christ our Lord.


The Rosary

The four main divisions (known as Mysteries) of the Rosary are as follows:

The Joyful Mysteries

(Said on Mondays, Saturdays, Sundays of Advent, and Sundays from Epiphany until Lent)

* The Annunciation
* The Visitation
* The Birth of Our Lord
* The Presentation of the Child Jesus in the Temple
* The Finding of the Child Jesus in the Temple

The Sorrowful Mysteries

(Said on Tuesdays, Fridays, and daily from Ash Wednesday until Easter Sunday)

* The Agony in the Garden
* The Scourging at the Pillar
* The Crowning with Thorns
* The Carrying of the Cross to Calvary
* The Crucifixion and Death of Our Lord

The Glorious Mysteries

(Said on Wednesdays, and Sundays throughout the year)

* The Resurrection
* The Ascension into Heaven
* The Descent of the Holy Spirit
* The Assumption of Our Lady into Heaven
* The Crowning of Our Lady as Queen of Heaven

The Mysteries of Light

(Said on Thursdays throughout the year)

* The Baptism in the Jordan
* The Wedding at Cana
* The Proclamation of the Kingdom
* The Transfiguration
* The Institution of the Eucharist

The Rosary begins with the Opening Responsory

 (V - O God open my lips. R - And my mouth shall declare your praise.)

 This is followed by the recitation of the Apostle’s Creed. Next comes one ‘Our Father,’ three ‘Hail Mary's’ and one ‘Glory Be to the Father.’ After this are followed the five decades which consist of one ‘Our Father,’ ten ‘Hail Mary's’ and one ‘Glory Be to the Father’ in each decade.

The Rosary concludes with the ‘Hail Holy Queen.’


Stations of the Cross

There are 15 Stations of the Cross

I. Jesus is condemned to death: Leaving the house of Caiphas, where he had been blasphemed, and the house of Herod, where he had been mocked, Jesus is dragged before Pilate, his back torn with scourges, his head crowned with thorns; and he is condemned to a disgraceful death.

II. Jesus is made to carry his cross: A heavy cross is laid on the bruised shoulders of Jesus. He receives it with meekness: it is the instrument with which he is to redeem the world.

III. Jesus falls the first time: Bowed down under the weight of the cross, Jesus slowly sets forth on the way to Calvary amidst the mockeries and insults of the crowd. His agony in the garden has exhausted his body and he is sore from blows and wounds; his strength fails him and he falls to the ground under the weight of the cross.

IV. Jesus meets his Blessed Mother: Still burdened by his cross and wounded by his fall, Jesus proceeds on his way. He is met by his Mother. What a meeting that must have been! What a sword of anguish must have pierced her heart!

V. Simon of Cyrene is made to help Jesus carry his cross: As the strength of Jesus fails and he is unable to proceed, the soldiers seize Simon of Cyrene from the crowd and make him help Jesus. The virtue of that cross changed his cross and the compulsory task became a privilege and a joy.

VI. Veronica wipes the face of Jesus: As Jesus continues on the way and covered with the sweat of death, a woman moved by compassion, makes her way through the crowd and wipes his face with a towel. As a reward of her piety, the impression of his sacred countenance is miraculously imprinted upon the towel.

VII. Jesus falls the second time: The pain of the wounds and the loss of blood increasing with every step, again his strength fails him and Jesus falls to the ground a second time.

VIII. The women of Jerusalem weep for Jesus: At the sight of the sufferings of Jesus, some holy women in the crowd were so touched with sympathy that they openly bewailed and lamented him. Jesus, knowing the things that were to happen to Jerusalem because of its rejection of him, turned to them and said: “Daughters of Jerusalem, weep not for me, but weep for yourselves and for your children.”

IX. Jesus falls the third time: Jesus had now almost arrived at the summit of Calvary, but before he reached the spot where he was to be crucified, his strength again fails him and falls the third time.

X. Jesus is stripped of his garments: Having finally arrived at the place of crucifixion they prepared to crucify him. His garments are removed from his bleeding body and he stands naked before the people, while the soldiers cast lots to see who shall keep his garment.

XI. Jesus is nailed to the cross: The cross is laid upon the ground and Jesus is stretched upon his bed of death. At one and the same time he offers his bruised body to his heavenly Father of behalf of all peoples, and to his executioners to be nailed by them to the wood.

XII. Jesus dies on the cross: For three hours Jesus hung upon the cross, and in the midst of his sufferings he has forgiven those who condemned him, pardoned the good thief, and committed his Mother and the beloved disciple to each other’s care. All is now consummated, and, bowing his head, he breathes his last.

XIII. Jesus is taken down from the cross: The crowds have left Calvary and none remain except the beloved disciple and some holy women who support Jesus’ blessed Mother. Joseph of Arimathea and Nicodemus take down the lifeless body of Jesus and place it in is Mother’s arms.

XIV. Jesus is laid in the Sepulchre: The body of her Son is taken from his Mother and laid in the tomb belonging to Joseph of Arimathea. The tomb is closed and there the corpse remains until its glorious resurrection.

XVI. The Resurrection of Jesus. Jesus is raised from the dead and ascends into Heaven.


Magh Ene Parish Office     Bundoran    t: 071 9841290      e: